Because I can

So, I’ve got a slight problem.

It started in pre-primary school when I was young(er) and (more) impressionable and self-esteem was still being formed by my many educators and I decided to draw a picture and the teacher said it was the most beautiful house on wheels she’d ever seen and complemented my spelling my name correctly at such a tender age.

<Breathe>

And it’s pretty much haunted me throughout my life ever since. And, if I had to be 100% honest with myself, it’s one of the major contributing factors to me choosing medicine as my career field.

What is this problem, I hear your disembodied mental voice ask me?

I am an overachiever.

No, this is not a bursary interview where you try to make yourself sound good when the stern lady asks you what your weaknesses are. This is serious.

Serious because, I think I just started another blog. Just days after starting this one. I don’t know what drove me to do it. Maybe it was the fact that I figured, this blog is going to chronicle medschool, what about my OTHER interests.

(Yes, med students have other interests. We just usually wait until we should be sleeping to nurture them.)

Maybe I just felt like I wanted to publish some of my less academically-inclined works through a different medium so that this blog wouldn’t feel like a vehicle for my own vanity. Ha ha.

Or maybe it was just that the idea of starting an actual website seemed so irresistible and it came with a blog attached and I really wanted to try it because Google makes Yola seem so shiny and hassle-free and WHY CAN’T I HAVE TWO FREAKING BLOGS ANYWAY???

<Breathe>

Nah. I think it’s just because I’m an overachiever.*

So, if you happen to be interested, check my other blog out. If not, that’s okay too. I think there’s enough crazy on this one in any case.

Whew. Glad I got that off my chest.

Dinner, anyone?

 

*Okay. I’m toying with the idea of a post called ‘My Gunner Days’. Because, I’m ashamed to admit, for a whole two weeks there, I was becoming that student everyone hates because they try sooo hard to be a lecturer’s pet. Thankfully, I have good friends who insulted me back into sanity. Now I’m just a regular overachieving Jo with two blogs. Gulp.

 

UPDATE: I decided to remove the link to my other blog for various reasons. The main one being that a friend said I come across a little schizo when the two are compared. Which, you know, can’t be a good thing can it?
Leave a comment

Filed under random, ranting

Leave a Reply

