Today’s Yesterday (Part One)

So we did our spot test.

Basically, a spot test is a way to test your anatomy and histology by laying out real specimens and slides at various stations. You must move from station to station and answer a question on the specimen displayed in forty seconds.

Forty seconds sure sounded like a long enough time. Until I got to my first station.

I was never under the delusion that they would lay out a lung and be like, “Yo, 2nd year, what’s this?” so that I could merely shrug and say, “Duh. A lung, dude.”

I expected, maybe, a lung to be set out and to my asked, “Which lung is this?” Or, “What structure is set in this portion of the hilum/lobe/whatever.”

Instead, there was actually a question like this: (Pins set in oblique fissure) What structure lies in relation to this?

And all I could think was, “In relation???” Because, honestly, what’s that even supposed to mean?

Um, well the heart would be in relation to it on one hand, the pleura could be in relation to it on the other. Only four stations later did it dawn on me that they wanted me to state which rib would be found superficially to the oblique fissure (I think.) Which, I’m sorry, but why didn’t they just ask that?

At that point I’d lost all hope that The Administration is not out to get us.

On a lighter note, they put a pin on a cadaval bust at the angle of Louis and said, “Name the notch.” Then, two stations later, they put a pin in the notch above the manubrium (but the manubrium was so small you could hardly tell and we were imagining beyond the bodyless head in an effort to assess our surface anatomy–which was counterintuitive if you think about it, because we weren’t allowed to touch anything) and said “Name the notch.”

I laughed a little, I must admit.

The heads were creepy, now that I think about it. Doing the Respiratory System, we haven’t had the pleasure of uncovering our cadaver’s head and so I really haven’t seen Fred’s probably-contorted face. Most of the Resp structures and features in the head and neck we’ve pretty much learnt in theory in order to make time for the weightier stuff in the thorax.

So, you can imagine my surprise when I got to station X and found the bust of this old-looking guy–no body, just head, neck and shoulders–and he’s snarling at me.

I kid you not.

I barely had time to identify the thyroid cartilage before my forty seconds were up.

All in all, the spot test was okay. I was just hoping by the end that the written assessment would hold fewer surprises.

Leave a comment

Filed under random, ranting, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

