It’s not like I should be studying or anything…

…so I thought I would catch up on some academically-related reading.*

In my quest for knowledge I stumbled across Action Potential’s post about google searches. Like I said, it’s not like I should be studying or anything**, so I decided to try and see what search results I’d get.



Ah, yes, what WOULD happen if males were a bit more responsible...

Ah, yes, what WOULD happen if males were a bit more responsible...

The good news: yes, folks, Google knows where you are and will filter your searches to suit your location. And, apparently, everyone round here seems a little concerned about Madiba, facebook and big bright sky objects.

The bad news: I’m not so sure how to react to that last result.

But thinking of birth control led to thinking about “breakthrough bleeding”, one of the most common side effects of oral contraceptives our high school biology teacher was kind enough to mention to (all four of) the young impressionable girls in my bio class. And thinking of bleeding led to thinking about blood.

Thinking about blood and contraceptives led to thinking of venous thromboembolism.***

Which led to thinking about blood vessels.

Which led to thinking about Cardio.

Oh, shoot. I think I have a spot test to study for.

*Read: stalk the peeps on my blogroll. Because, you know, it is still medically related in a way.
**Any excuse to avoid Anatomy. Despite tomorrow’s test.
***Thank you Resp! You haunt me still.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It’s not like I should be studying or anything…

  1. Lol…doesn’t every med. student read MORE blogs when they’re supposed to study? It’s like a programmed response. We need more “study breaks” or something and suddenly, we’re all up to date on our reading lists.

    RE: the male birth control…maybe some of your male classmates are curious… 🙂

Leave a Reply

