George

I’d like to introduce all the non-Southern African bloggers to the term ‘George’.

I’m not even going to go into a whole introductory piece about how the phrase came about. George is basically any mistake in grammar or spelling in the English language, usually made by non-English speakers but especially funny when it’s a first language error. The best way to explain it is with examples:

“My father was marriage.”

“I didn’t saw you.”

“Children, come to the front simultaneously one by one.”

And on we may go.

And just as I typed this, “Sorry, I forget to gave you this.”

Eish…

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that, since English is not technically my mother-tongue, I fall prone to Georges as often as the next person.

But there are some things even I can’t ignore.

What follows is a conversation that a friend of mine saw on facebook.

It’s even worse because of the context of the update. I mean, seriously third and second-last person. Have you no shame?

Hmmm...

Hmmm…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

