Soundcheck Sundays

So, I’m a pretty simplistic person.

I don’t need much to get by, just the bare necessities, some clean water, something edible and good music. Okay, maybe a roof over my head as well. But that’s about it.

Lately though, I’ve been running short on good music. I’m the kind of person that can listen to a good album a billion times and not get bored, but every now and then I get the itch to hear something fresh to get me in the mood for a productive day or some hardcore studying. Or just because, you know, music rocks.

A while back a friend introduced me to this really cool internet radio station that plays piano solos all day, everyday. Just piano solos. That is all.

Seriously.

All day.

For real.

So after freaking out a good while, I became obsessed with Sky.fm. Because, well, it’s piano solos people. (If you are still not freaking out, I bid you farewell. You can stop reading now.)

I’m not a instrumentals-only snob, mind you. My favorite instrument is the human voice, which is why it annoys me to no end that South Africa still won’t play The Sing-Off on our shores.

But I digress.

My point is, I’m not one of those people who discriminates against certain instruments or anything. Good music is good music. But I was still pretty annoyed today when I put in my earphones and heard a guitar-drum-synthesizer rendition of Whitney Houston’s “Greatest Love of All.” On a piano-solos-only station.

I love me some Whitney, don’t get me wrong.

But seriously? Is there nothing sacred in this world anymore?

 

Now playing: 
Christian Calcatelli – Memories on the Shelf
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

