The Mature Thing To Do

I know it is childish and immature and mean and probably even a bit rude.

I know that this probably shows that I have some underlying psychosis and therefore starting third year with Neuro (which includes a Psych block) is probably the best thing that will happen to me this year as it will help me diagnose what is wrong with me.

I know all this but I still can’t help it.

Help what?

Laughing.

Non-stop.

Since about ten minutes ago.

I got a phone call from one of my mentees…

Me: Hello?
Mentee: Oh my goodness, MedicalRose, I just want to die!
Me: Woah, calm down, tell me what’s wrong.
Mentee: I just can’t believe it, it’s so unfair!
Me: What are you talking about? Wait…you didn’t fail something last year, did you? Because I triple-checked the marks-board before I told you your results, so if they’re telling you that you have to redo something I will fight that because the board said you passed!

*Silence*

Mentee: Um, okay. I passed, that’s not the issue.
Me: Oh. Why do you want to die then?
Mentee: Because I have to be here, in class, ON THE THIRD OF FREAKING JANUARY!!!

That’s when I started laughing.

Because, come on, I remember so clearly the way that I felt exactly a year ago, sitting in that lecture hall, fuming at the thought that all my friends were probably sleeping in as I listened to a diatribe on the dangers of smoking (or something).

I’ve been there. Done that. Got the seven-module battle scars.

So I couldn’t help but laugh at her, because I remember it so clearly. Has it really been a year? Feels like a lifetime ago.

Anyway, I imparted some words of encouragement and promised I would walk her through some tips when I get back this Sunday to begin classes on the ninth. I tried to be grown and wise and sound sage between my fits of laughter, but I doubt she felt that way.

Anywho, one of my goals for the new year (I don’t do resolutions because I usually don’t fulfill them, and the word goal sounds so much more focussed) is to start being much more mature about things.

Especially since I am an official third year student (whoop! Whoop!) and I’ll be spending about half of this year in hospital (Whoop! Whoop!) and this means I have to come across like a capable levelheaded adult at least 50% of the time.

So I am going to do the mature thing and wish all my lovelies all the best for the new academic year! I know you can do it and I trust that you will.

You’d better anyway, because if you start failing I might get fired.

Ah, yes. My first years are second years. They grow up so fast.

5 Comments

Filed under MenTut, random

5 responses to “The Mature Thing To Do

  1. enkay

    I’m a huge fan of your blog, and since I’ll be doing my 2nd year of medicine (at the University of Pretoria) this year, your 2011 posts will be like a personal reference guide for me. We’ll be dissecting around february (I can’t wait) but I think there’s more to look forward to than that. We already started clinical work last year. I work at a clinic in Eastlynn with four of my classmates and a mentor (who is I nurse) and I will be there until 4th year, and then after that we will be student interns, working in hospitals for half of the school day everyday. Anyway I hope 3rd year goes well for you šŸ™‚

    • !Aw enkay now I just feel horrible for not having posted more in 2011. Maybe I’ll dig up and finish some of those drafts I was always starting, glad you think this blog is helpful. Strongs with your 2nd year! Or, since you’re at UP, I should probably say, “Sterkte!”

  2. Yay! Another Tygerbergie blogs, super šŸ™‚
    That’s funny. Second years are funny. Second year sucked. For all I care, I went straight from first to third year. Second year never happened.
    Good luck with Neuro. It’s a tough one, but the 50% in hospital will rock your socks.
    Also, don’t worry too much about acting grownup. I have a bright pink steth and all the patients love it.

    • @barefoot_med_student, good to know there is still room for those of us who are young at heart. I still can’t believe second year is over, or that I’m starting with Neuro which is sure to laugh in the face of Uro/Cardio/PickOne. But I’m sooo ready! Of course, I can neither confirm nor deny that I am a tygerbergie;) trying my best not to get my school or myself in trouble anytime in the future

Leave a Reply

