It’s The Little Things

Consultant: Okay, I want you to do procedures x, y and z on Patient P with Complicated Condition Q. Grab one of your third years to help you.

Me: Um, I am a third year.

Consultant: Oh. I thought you were a sixth year. Weren’t you part of that group in Ward S?

Me: Yes.

Consultant: I really thought you were a sixth year. Your group is very competent.

Me: *faints*

When all you hear all week is how lazy and dumb third years are and all you feel is incompetent and dumb, it’s comments like these that make you push on.

I am still recovering. Give me a minute.

Leave a comment

Filed under Surgery, Trauma

Leave a Reply

