“I always ask myself: why don’t these patients just die!”*

And other shocking things I hear in class that not even context can soften.

Neuro Part II is officially underway and I have decided that I will do some  form of studying in the first week this time around, seeing as our results for the test in Part I were released sometime last week and…well…they were released.

On the upside, I wrote into the safe zone. I’m not sure whether that has to do with the fact that–for the first and possibly last time ever–Anatomy did not screw me over. Or whether our portfolio’s counted more than we thought they would–which would be hilarious, seeing as I spent a total of four hours on mine the day before it was due. Or maybe the marks were just heavily adjusted.

I’m banking on either of the first two, because Neuro did not do good things to most people’s third year confidence.

On the downside, I was listening to some neuro-type stuff this afternoon and I had no idea what was being said. So I went to read up and that freaked me out further because the words looked familiar but had zero meaning. Spinothalamic tract? Come again?

Which means I didn’t study effectively enough to store the info in my longterm memory when I prepared for the test. Which means I have to re-study Part I from scratch.

Oh boy.

It’s moments like these when I really detest studying. I just want to crawl back into the hospital and take the abuse hurled at us by the doctors who think we are a waste of space. At least then I’ll get to wear these:

Surgery...scrubs..I miss you...

But alas. My brain requires stimulation. I actually enjoy lectures, I enjoy learning. But I can’t really say I’m a fan of being assessed. Which could pose a slight challenge seeing as I’m barely halfway through this degree. Hmm…

At least the work is interesting. Although when they start droning on and on about sleep disorders, I start thinking maybe I have one.

Sigh.

*CONTEXT: The lecturer was referring to a patient with sleep apnoea who had sats of 34% but was somehow still functioning. Which is insane. But apparently, because of the chronic course of their disease, the body had adapted enough to cope with that level of hypoxia. Which is even more insane.
1 Comment

Filed under Neuro, Surgery

One response to ““I always ask myself: why don’t these patients just die!”*

  1. Yeap, I had a patient with COP yesterday whose sats were 30%. I wanted to start rescussing and the doctor just laughed.

Leave a Reply

