Help Yourself

This image has nothing to do with this post. But you're trying to become a better person, so you are pretending not to care.

This image has nothing to do with this post. But you’re trying to become a better person, so you are pretending not to care.


I was quite thoroughly mocked for admitting recently that I compiled a Vision Board (which is more like a booklet, really) for 2013 and was already planning for my elective module which is only in October. I write this as a prelude to the fact that I am a nerd. Or a dork, really, because I’m pretty sure all nerds are super smart, so that right there is probably part of the exclusion criteria. I’m just really eager. About some things. Not studying (never studying!) but about things that involve planning and goals and preparation. I’m the type of person who spends half an hour setting up a study-time table for the week. I never stick to it, but I at leastplan to.

On that note, I’ve been going through some of the books that are lying around in my home while I pack for school—class on the 7th!—and I’ve noticed that people in this house buy a lot of self-help books. And by people, I mean all of us. Yet I’m pretty sure that none of us have ever actually finished a self-help book. Fiction, especially of the fantasy-mould: we’re your people. Traditionally boring reads containing biblical exegesis of theologies and Daniel/Revelation prophecy: we’re practically drooling. Biographies and ‘be the best you can be’ self-help? Eh…

But a lot of the titles of these books are really interesting! Which probably explains why someone bought them in the first place but then later came to their senses. Books I’ve found just chilling in dark corners include:

Kiss That Frog! by Brian Tracy & Christina Tracy Stein

Winning with People by John C. Maxwell

Today Matters by John C. Maxwell

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey I won’t lie, I’ve been meaning to read this one for years!

The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership by John C. Maxwell

Eat That Frog! by Brian Tracy

Now, I have to wonder about the froggy self-help and all the John C. Maxwell that never gets read in this house. I also have to wonder why anyone would buy the follow-up to something they’d never read. I also have to wonder how I’m going to manoeuvre this packing thing so that I can squeeze in these books without my luggage being overweight. I also have to wonder if anything will change or if I’ll just be left with less shelf-space because in a moment of weakness I convinced myself I could get down with this genre.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

